Articles Links

Electric Bike Law

Electric Bicycles are defined by the California Vehicle Code secs. 406 (a) and (b) and 24016 (a) and (b) and if they meet criteria, a person with a suspended license may ride them because these units are not considered "motor vehicles."  

In summary, electric bicycles are to be operated like conventional bicycles in California. There are several exceptions: A person must be at least 16 years old, and must wear a bicycle helmet. The e-bikes must have an electric motor that has a power output less than 1,000 watts, can't go faster than 20 miles per hour on level ground, can't further increase its speed by pedaling, operates in a manner so that the electric motor is disengaged when the brakes are applied, or operates in a manner such that the motor is engaged through a switch or mechanism that, when released, will cause the electric motor to disengage or cease to function.

 
Driver's licenses, registration, insurance and license plate requirements do not apply. A motorized bicycle is not a motor vehicle. A motorized bicycle shall only be operated by a person 16 years of age or older. Drinking and driving laws apply. Additional laws or ordinances may apply to the use of electric bicycles by each city or county. 
CALL ME FOR A FREE CONSULTATION

MICHAEL SHULTZ


SERVING CLIENTS IN SOUTHERN
CALIFORNIA COURTS FOR OVER 30 YEARS
CALL FOR DETAILS
(310) 456-1913
Free Consultation

FREE CONSULTATION!

Name*:
Email*:
Phone:
Any Questions or Comments? (optional):
2+5=* So we know you are human.
MICHAEL L. SHULTZ, ATTORNEY AT LAW

MEMBER OF THE CALIFORNIA
STATE BAR SINCE DEC 1972
SBN# 054551


Web Design By The Web Corner